Τhe Centre for Foreign Language Teaching is an Academic Unit of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and offers courses in Languages for Specific Purposes (LSP). The main languages taught are English, German, French, and Italian. Within the framework of lifelong language learning, and in an effort to expand the range of languages  offered, following a unanimous decision by the Senate, the Centre now provides students with the option  to choose among  additional language courses. The pilot teaching of Turkish (following  an interuniversity agreement with the Canakkale University) and Russian (Iason Programme: Greek studies in the Black Sea countries) were introduced in 2011.
Courses offered by the Centre are designed to match the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages of the Council of Europe (CEFR). English, German, French, and Italian language courses aim to help students acquire the skills that will enable them to use academic language. The aim of Turkish and Russian teaching is to help students acquire general language skills.

Courses are offered free of charge up to six semesters. Students may select from a range of compulsory, required elective and elective courses which are assigned credit units that correspond to ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) credits. Students may enroll in any of these courses provided that the course is listed  in the program of study of each School.